Skip to main content
Screenshot 2024-03-16 at 19.31.08

Sedgefield 500

6th September 2024. 06:00. Sedgefield, Western Cape, South Africa

The Garden Route of the Western Cape in South Africa hosts the Sedgefield 500. On this epic journey, you will enjoy unparalleled natural beauty that very few places can offer. Every twist and turn gives something special, offering mixed landscapes that very few places in the world can compare to.

From the sandy beaches of the Indian Ocean to the lush forests of the South Africa Garden route, there’s always something to enjoy, and the surroundings change as you progress kilometer after kilometer. This isn’t just a tour on your bike but a journey of self-discovery.

This bikepacking gravel event spans 500 km and is 7000 meters in elevation. It will test your physical endurance and mental fortitude. Each pedal stroke will be a testament to your unwavering resolve and a reminder of your determination to finish.

The Sedgefield 500 is a very personal event. With a maximum limit of only 13 participants and a route made by a local expert, it will give you the best of the region and test you like no other ride. You might be there for a long weekend of riding or there to race to the finish. 

No matter what brings you to the Sedgefield 500, it is much more than just a bike ride. It’s an odyssey of endurance and a journey of self-discovery in South Africa. It will leave you inspired, invigorated, and changed forever!


The Sedgefield 500 ultra gravel bikepacking race across the Garden Route is an epic journey of endurance and discovery that will leave you inspired and in awe of the natural beauty of South Africa. This incredible race takes you through some of the most breathtaking scenery on the planet, from lush forests to pristine beaches, and everything in between.

As you cycle your way through the Garden Route, you will encounter challenges that will test your physical and mental limits. The rugged terrain, steep climbs, and challenging descents will push you to your limits, but with each pedal stroke, you will feel a sense of accomplishment and satisfaction that can only be gained through perseverance and determination.

Join the Sedgefield 500 waiting list

Screenshot 2024-03-19 at 18.04.00
Route Highlight

The Montagu Pass (Gravel) and Outeniqua Pass (Tar)

The Montagu Pass and Outeniqua Pass are two historic mountain passes located in the Western Cape region of South Africa, on the Garden Route. These passes have played an important role in the region's history, and today they are popular routes for cyclists, hikers, and motorists.The Montagu Pass was constructed in the mid-19th century and was named after John Montagu, the colonial secretary of the Cape Colony. It was the first road over the Outeniqua Mountains and was built to connect the port town of George with the interior town of Oudtshoorn, which was a major center of ostrich farming. The pass was designed by Henry Fancourt White, a British engineer, and it took six years to complete.The Montagu Pass is a challenging climb, with an elevation gain of 800 meters over a distance of 11 kilometers. It features 126 bends, some of which are sharp hairpin turns, and the road surface is often steep and narrow. Despite its challenges, the Montagu Pass was a significant achievement at the time of its construction, and it opened up new opportunities for trade and commerce in the region.The Outeniqua Pass, on the other hand, was built later, in the early 20th century, and it replaced the Montagu Pass as the main route over the Outeniqua Mountains. The pass was constructed by Thomas Bain, a renowned road engineer who also designed many other mountain passes in South Africa. The Outeniqua Pass is longer than the Montagu Pass, stretching for 13 kilometers, and it has an elevation gain of 800 meters.The Outeniqua Pass is wider and less steep than the Montagu Pass, making it an easier climb for cyclists and motorists. However, it still offers spectacular views of the surrounding landscape, including the Outeniqua Mountains, the Kaaimans River Gorge, and the Garden Route coastline.

Today, both the Montagu Pass and the Outeniqua Pass are popular routes for cyclists who want to test their endurance and enjoy the natural beauty of the Garden Route. These passes are also important landmarks in the region's history and a testament to the ingenuity and skill of the engineers who built them. Cyclists who brave these historic mountain passes will be rewarded with stunning views and a sense of accomplishment that can only be gained through physical exertion and determination.

Seven Passes Gravel

The 7 Passes Road in Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa, is a historic route that winds its way through the Outeniqua Mountains, connecting the towns of Knysna and George. The road gets its name from the seven mountain passes that it crosses, each with its unique features and challenges.The construction of the 7 Passes Road began in the late 1800s and was completed in the early 1900s. The road was built to provide a more direct route between the coastal town of Knysna and the interior town of George, which had become an important center of commerce and agriculture.The road was designed by Thomas Bain, a renowned road engineer who was responsible for many of the mountain passes in the region. Bain faced many challenges during the construction of the road, including difficult terrain, steep inclines, and harsh weather conditions.Despite these challenges, Bain's design was a success, and the 7 Passes Road quickly became a popular route for travelers and traders. The road was used to transport goods, including timber, wine, and produce, from the interior to the coast, and it played an important role in the economic development of the region.Over the years, the 7 Passes Road has undergone many changes, including upgrades and repairs, but it remains an important part of the region's history and heritage. Today, the road is a popular route for cyclists and motorists, who are drawn to its scenic beauty and challenging terrain.Along the way, you will encounter stunning vistas, mountain streams, and lush forests, as well as the historic bridges and landmarks that have made the 7 Passes Road a beloved icon of the Western Cape

0 (1)






De Vlugt down and up

Apparently first known as Edmonton when pass builder extraordinaire Thomas Bain and his family lived there in the 1860s, the village later adopted its current name, De Vlugt. While no records seem to exist as to the name's origin, its Dutch meaning perhaps best translates as "The Escape", a fitting moniker.The De Vlugt gravel road pass, also known as the R339 pass, is a scenic drive located in the Western Cape province of South Africa. The pass connects the towns of Uniondale and Willowmore, and is approximately 24 km long. The road is mostly gravel and can be challenging to navigate, particularly during wet weather.Today, it remains an important transport link in the area, although it is also a popular tourist attraction. It took Bain four years to build the pass.The pass is known for its stunning natural beauty, offering panoramic views of the surrounding mountains and valleys. The area is home to a diverse range of flora and fauna, including a number of bird species.

Rider Stories

left-quote Created with Sketch.
I’m a bit deep into this now for too much new self discovery but still found a little bit of new ability to set a goal and chase a plan, for 22hrs.


left-quote Created with Sketch.
When you are ready to quit you’ve only given 30%. Rule #5 is all you need (& maybe some good nutrition 😅)
left-quote Created with Sketch.
The Karoo Stars are spectacular on a moonless night!
left-quote Created with Sketch.
This was brutal, I kept going through the lows.